Busy Wanderings: My Big British Adventure – Day 24

Although my journey today was a short one, since it was a travel day, it meant another early start to get showered and packed and checked out.  While I still haven’t had to unzip PJ’s expander, I’m actually a bit relieved that this will be the last time I’ll have to pack everything into her; I’m buying a second suitcase when I get back to London so that I can split stuff up and not be dinged for being way over the luggage weight limit.

 
Anyway, I checked out, stowed my stuff in the porter’s lodge, and made my way down Parks Road to Radcliffe Square to have breakfast at the Vaults and Garden again.  Sitting outside in the shadow of the University Church with a view of the Radcliffe Camera, it wasn’t as cold as my first breakfast there three weeks earlier…but it began to rain, so I moved my tea and toast inside, which wasn’t too awful.  Connected to the church, the café is in a room built in the 1320s.

  

 After breakfast, I made my way back to Keble College and caught a taxi to the train station.  Of course, I got there ridiculously early, so I just bought my ticket and chilled until it was time to catch my train to London.  That journey took just under an hour, with the train only calling at Reading and Slough on its way to Paddington.  I arrived in London around 1:30 and PJ and I walked the couple of short blocks to the flat that will be my home for the last five nights of my trip.  It’s a lovely, lovely flat on a beautiful tree-lined street and it’s super quiet…probably because I’m on the fourth floor (that’d be the fifth floor in the States).  Luckily, there is a (tiny) lift in the building…that goes to the second floor.  But the owner insisted on carrying PJ up the last two flights; he actually hoisted her up and carried her over his head!

After lounging around for a bit, I made my way back to Paddington station to hit up the Sainsbury’s for some groceries.  Having a flat with a kitchen is a nice change from having to venture out for meals.  After dinner, I did some laundry, FaceTime chatted with home, wrote a bit, and now I’m off to bed.  Tomorrow, I’ll venture to Debenhams on Oxford Street to buy another suitcase and then, it’s Gypsy with Imelda Staunton at the Savoy Theatre tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

