Busy Wanderings: My Big British Adventure – Day 31

Day 31 truly was the last day of my journey. It began in Chicago, ended in Sacramento, and was essentially nothing but travel. I caught the shuttle from the hotel to Midway Airport around 9:15am, checked PJ and Janie at the Southwest counter, and was through security in less than ten minutes. My flight wasn’t scheduled to depart until 12:30, but I figured I could either sit around the hotel or sit around the airport and that it was best to just go ahead and get situated at the airport. I grabbed a bite of breakfast and then made my way to my gate with tons of time to spare, where I sat and watched the Southwest 737s taxi as I listened to the ground agent one gate over desperately beg for two volunteers to give up their seat on the Charleston-bound flight (no one volunteered).  

    Eventually, it was time to line up and board and as usual, opting for Early Bird Check-in paid off and my early boarding position allowed me to snag a great seat. After the safety demonstration and a very smooth take-off, I put my earbuds in and tried to sleep for as much of the 3:40 flight to Phoenix as possible (my plane was stopping at Sky Harbor before continuing on to Sacramento). The flight was pretty smooth and uneventful…until it made its final landing approach in Phoenix and hit the worst turbulence I’ve ever experienced. A nervous flyer anyway, it took everything I had not to completely freak out. I think I handled it pretty well, considering that I’d never been so scared while flying before. After changing crew and swapping out the majority of the passengers, the plane was back in the air and bound for Sacramento, hitting more turbulence along the way but finally touching down around 4:40 local time.  

         I know it’s been 4.5 weeks since I left home, but seeing everything familiar again made it seem like I’d never even left. Maybe that’s what home is, something so familiar that you can come back to it after a month of travelling and feel like you were never even gone. But, I brought back an amazing set of memories and experiences, quite a few souvenirs, and a whole lot of jet lag. I already desperately want to return to the UK, but I’ll treasure the four weeks I spent there forever. And hopefully, I can find my way back before too long…

Leave a Reply

