More Busy Wanderings: Another Big British Adventure – Day 4

Day Four was mostly a travel day. After my best night of sleep so far this trip, I got ready, finished packing, and had breakfast, eventually wrestling PJ down the four flights of stairs from my room and checking out. After a quick taxi ride to the train station, I stopped into the travel center to make reservations for two journeys later on in my trip (I’m not sure if it’s because it was a weekend, but the trains have seemed busier than on my last trip, so a reservation is worth the peace of mind). I then made my way through the subway tunnel to Platform 9 to wait for my train to Edinburgh, checking my reservation slip from Thursday afternoon and noticing that the agent had made the reservation for that train … tomorrow. Luckily, there was one seat in Coach C not reserved between either York or somewhere further down the line and Edinburgh, so I was able to grab it and enjoy the scenery for awhile, which was just as beautiful as I remember from my last trip, especially the views of Durham Cathedral and the coast.   
   
Eventually, the very full train pulled into Edinburgh Waverley and I joined a rather long queue at the Market Street taxi rank, but finally made my way to my lovely temporary flat near the Grassmarket in Edinburgh’s Old Town. The view from the bedroom and kitchen windows can’t get much better.  
After a walk down the block to Sainsbury’s for some groceries (and a meal that was not a sandwich), it was an exciting evening of reading, writing, and laundry (which it’s a bit early for, but since the washer in the flat is not a washer-dryer, I thought it best to do some of it now). Tomorrow will probably be a somewhat early day, since I’m planning on heading to Edinburgh Waverley for a day trip adventure to the west.

2 thoughts on “More Busy Wanderings: Another Big British Adventure – Day 4

    • I think it’d be great to go first class to
      Edinburgh from somewhere further afield and I would like to experience a first class train trip someday. I use a BritRail FlexiPass for my non-day trip train rides; I find it easiest for me since it gives me unlimited travel on each day and can save me quite a bit on longer journeys. Unfortunately, the first class one is quite a bit more expensive, so I haven’t splurged on it yet, but maybe someday …

      I love walking around Edinburgh and do enjoy the walk from the station to the Grassmarket … just not with my huge spinner suitcase in tow. πŸ™‚

      Sounds like you had a lovely time in Edinburgh!

Leave a Reply

