More Busy Wanderings: Another Big British Adventure – Day 8

I began Day Eight by sleeping in a bit, heading down to breakfast just after 8:15 and having a lovely chat with the dining room’s other occupants: a very friendly couple from Brisbane, Australia who are spending four weeks travelling around. After a yummy breakfast of cereal followed by smoked salmon on toast (oh, it’s a breakfast thing here, too, so you can bet I ordered it), I got ready with the intention of just walking around Bowness and Windermere. However, after some tips from Jackie (my wonderful hostess) and it being such a lovely, sunny day, a bit of research led me to decide on a boat trip on Lake Windermere instead. So, I walked down the hill to the pier where I caught the 12:15 to Waterhead and Ambleside at the north end of the lake. It was chilly on the water, but not enough to keep me from a seat up top where I could take in the scenery as the Miss Cumbria III made its way up the east side of the lake, stopping briefly at Brockhole before continuing north. The boat was crowded but not unpleasantly so and there were quite a few pups on board, including a friendly Westie named Barney.        

     

After disembarking at the Waterhead pier, I wandered around the lakefront for awhile before stopping into the Waterhead Bar and Grill for a bite to eat and a rather large pot of tea (in the bathroom, one is treated to audiobook recordings of the works of Beatrix Potter, which isn’t surprising given her connection to the area). After lunch, I wandered northwest along the lakefront through Borrans Park and the adjacent field-meadow thing that contains the remains of the Ambleside Roman Fort. Soon it was time to make my way back down to the pier to catch the Miss Cumbria III back to Bowness, along with Barney and his people (his mum explained that this had been his first boat trip). It was still very chilly on the lake, but I had the sun on my face as the boat steadily headed down the west side of the lake, passing both the widest and deepest parts on its way.          

After wandering around the shops on the main road, I stopped into Tesco for something for dinner (not a sandwich) and eventually climbed the hill back to my lovely B&B. Today was my only full day in the Lake District and as is usually the case, I find myself wishing I could stay longer. But tomorrow will take me to one of my favourite spots from last time, one I’m so eager and excited to visit again.

Leave a Reply

