More Busy Wanderings: Another Big British Adventure – Day 13

A busy day and a late night yesterday means another late post. Day Thirteen began early so that I could be ready, packed, and checked out of my hotel by 10am. Checkout wasn’t until 11 and I didn’t have to head to the Oxford train station until around noon, but I wanted enough time to walk to Radcliffe Square for breakfast at the Vaults and Garden, a place I discovered on my last trip. It’s a great cafe located adjacent to the University Church (the one with the tower I didn’t climb), “housed in Oxford’s old Congregation House of 1320.” I enjoyed a pot of tea and a plate of toast (they have really good toast) at an outside table with a lovely view of the Radcliffe Camera, trying not to eavesdrop on the conversation from another table about Downton Abbey; I was rather unsuccessful.  
Sadly, I eventually had to say goodbye to the Rad Cam, quickly stopping at Boots on my way to the hotel to await my taxi to the station. Soon, I was aboard the 12:31 from Oxford to London, arriving into Paddington right on schedule, the station being just a couple of blocks from the flat – a top floor gem that I found last time – that will be my temporary home for the last leg of this trip in the UK.  
I spent the next few hours doing laundry and writing the previous day’s blog post before I got ready and walked back to Paddington to catch the Circle Line, alighting at Temple Station and walking to the Aldwych Theatre to see Beautiful: The Carole King Musical. Unable to fit the Broadway production into the New York City segment of my trip next week, I decided I’d catch it while in London … and I’m so glad I did. It was phenomenal. Well, I already knew the music would be, but the entire production was superb. If you’re in London, see it. If you can get to London to see it, do it. It’s fabulous. After the show, I hopped back on the Tube and made my way back to the flat where I FaceTime-d with my creators, checked again to see if there was any way to wedge the Broadway production into next week’s schedule (there wasn’t … pook), and went to bed.  

Leave a Reply

