More Busy Wanderings: Another Big British Adventure – Day 19

On Day Nineteen, I said goodbye to London and the UK, and as always, it was a sad farewell. I’ve had another amazing trip, but like last time, it was hard to leave. But time marches on and my morning began early after a rainy and windy night, giving myself plenty of time to get everything packed up and ready to go. Just after 10 am, I said goodbye (again) to my lovely London flat and PJ, my as of yet unnamed new suitcase, and I headed up the road to Paddington to catch the Heathrow Express to the airport. Being a Monday morning after a holiday weekend, the airport was swarming with people, but luckily I was able to use one of the priority bag drop lanes and was through relatively quickly, being directed to a security lane with absolutely no line and flying through (I may be jinxing myself by mentioning it, but the security people at Heathrow are always so nice *knocks on wood*). Once through security, I navigated the huge herds of people in Concourse A and headed to Pret to grab some brunch and managed to snag a seat for the wait until my flight’s gate was posted. As I looked at the departures screen, the reason for the large volume of passengers became apparent: most of the flights listed were either delayed or cancelled, in all likelihood due to the high winds from the storm that morning/the night before. My flight to JFK was delayed by over an hour, but since there was nothing to do but wait, that’s what I did. At 1:08 (my flight was originally supposed to depart at 1:10), my gate information was posted and I caught the transit thingy to Concourse C. After only a short while, I was aboard the 747, and a short while later, I was struggling to stay awake, since another delay and a high volume of taxiing traffic meant it was another hour until we were airborne. But eventually we were. After a very long but mostly smooth flight, I landed at JFK where I breezed through customs and then waited quite awhile for my luggage. But eventually, I was in a cab on my way to the Times Square Hyatt where I met up with my travel companion for the remainder of my trip: my awesome mum. We grabbed a yummy dinner in the hotel restaurant and then called it a night, both knackered from our long travel days.  

Leave a Reply

