Adventures of a Wanderess – Day 3

**I decided to change the title. I don’t know that it’s any more creative, but there it is. Also, I’m trying to keep track during this trip of just how far I journey on foot each day, or at least on exploring days that aren’t spent mostly on trains**


Distance travelled: 5.7 miles

Having managed to get quite a good night’s sleep, I was able to face the day not looking and feeling like a (total) zombie. After morning ablutions and a delicious light breakfast downstairs, I set off on a chilly, partly sunny, lovely morning for the mile walk to the Cambridge University Botanic Garden, crossing Parker’s Piece and joining the throng of students and faculty going to and fro. I arrived not long after 10 am and spent a couple of hours wandering through the various gardens, groves, and glasshouses and perusing the garden shop (somehow I found the willpower to resist buying what would have been my fifth UK trip acquired scarf) before heading to the garden café for a cup of tea and my first salmon sandwich of the trip (for those who don’t know, I love salmon sandwiches and they’re a staple of my UK trips). 








The afternoon was spent exploring the remaining sections of the gardens while trying – and failing – to avoid a group of way too energetic school children and trying to capture a decent photo of a pheasant. I found the information marker thingy for California poppies in the Rock Garden (a fun area to explore because of its intriguing crannies, but there was no sign of them, presumably because it’s a bit too early (and cold) for them over here yet (the ones I saw at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew two years ago were blooming in May). 





I finally bid farewell to the CUBG and headed back toward my B&B, making a detour to stop by Boots for a few things and wander through some other shops before grabbing a bite of takeaway to have for dinner later (complete with a green smoothie, perfectly festive for St. Patrick’s Day). I plan to spend tomorrow wandering through other bits of Cambridge.

Leave a Reply

