Adventures of a Wanderess – Day 6

Distance travelled: 3.25 miles
Salmon sandwich trip tally: 3

Although I managed to sleep well, I wasn’t feeling that great this morning so I thought it best to spend Day Six nearby instead of taking the train to Perth as I’d considered doing. I decided to revisit Greyfriars Kirkyard and the National Museum of Scotland – both near my flat and discussed in previous posts – and headed out around 11am. In the few minutes I spent doing last minute things, the weather changed from sun to rain – not at all unusual for Edinburgh – so I made my way up a rather damp Grassmarket, onto Candlemaker Row, and into the kirkyard where I slowly wandered along the paths and past the various stones. 



Eventually, the rain became a downpour and I walked across George IV Bridge and along Chambers Street to the museum entrance. Even though I spent a good few hours at the museum on my first trip, it houses such a vast array of exhibits that it would take several trips to see most of them, so I wandered through ones I hadn’t seen/hadn’t spent as much time on last time (like Dolly the Sheep), taking a break halfway through to have a pot of tea and a piece of apple crumble at the café on the third floor, near which is a miniature Lego version of the museum.







Afterward, I took the lift from the fifth floor to the roof to take in the views of Edinburgh before the wind drove me back inside. 


More exhibits and a browse of the gift shop later, I headed out into the sunshine and took South Bridge to the Royal Mile, stopping at Boots before continuing up to the Amber Restaurant inside the Scotch Whisky Experience for a light, late lunch (it’s my favourite spot for lunch in Edinburgh and the salmon sandwich is my go-to meal). One yummy sandwich and a pot of tea later, I navigated the many slippery stairs down to the Grassmarket, getting back to my flat just as the rain started up again. I hope to feel up to wandering further afield tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Adventures of a Wanderess – Day 6

  1. Oh, friend, I can’t get over the lovely photos! I do so enjoy popping in each day and reading about what you’ve seen and done. Thank you for sharing your adventures with us!

Leave a Reply

