Adventures of a Wanderess – Day 8

Salmon sandwich trip tally: 5

Day Eight began somewhat early as I wanted to give myself plenty of time to get ready and to get everything packed up. After saying goodbye to the flat (and Edinburgh Castle from the landing), I lugged PJ out to the sidewalk just as my taxi pulled up and was shortly on my way to Edinburgh Waverley Station. As is my habit, I got there with plenty of time (too much, maybe) so I grabbed a seat inside until my 12:12 train’s platform was announced and it was time to board. We pulled out of the station right on time and headed south past rainy, rolling green hills with slightly soggy sheep which soon gave way to snow-covered hills with well-camouflaged sheep. 





After calling at Lockerbie before crossing the border, stopping in Carlisle, and passing many much more snow-covered hills, I alighted at Oxenholme to catch the train to Windermere, reaching the end of the line just as the rain picked up again. 




A short taxi ride later and I was warm and dry after being warmly greeted by Jackie (and the new puppy) at my B&B in Bowness-on-Windermere, a wonderful gem that I found on my last trip and couldn’t pass up staying at again. The rain and a headache kept me in the rest of the evening and I’m not yet sure what my plans are for tomorrow. It will depend on how I feel and the weather, but if both cooperate, I hope to replicate last year’s day here and enjoy one of the other lake cruise routes.

One thought on “Adventures of a Wanderess – Day 8

  1. Glad you’re far from London and safe, if not feeling tip-top. Love the snowy sheep. And soggy sheep. And sheep, period. Have a wonderful evening, friend.

Leave a Reply

